2020 MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR | Sarah Legault, iskwē | | The JUNO Awards

Sarah Legault

Sarah Legault (London, ON) is an award-winning filmmaker, director, producer, animator, and writer. Known for her dark aesthetic, Sarah’s first stop-motion animation Dear Love earned the Best Animated Short Film award at the 2014 Toronto Independent Film Festival. Since then; Sarah has teamed up with Canadian electro-goth band Johnny Hollow to direct and animate their stop-motion music video Firefly (2016), co-directed and animated Canadian punk-rock band Billy Talent – Ghost Ship of Cannibal Rats (2017) and recently directed and animated iskwē – Little Star (2019) which premiered on Billboard.com and gained attention by CBC Music, NOW Magazine and many other publications.

Sarah’s work spans from illustration to stop-motion animation, directing, set and character design, doll making, set building, painting, photography, and co-curator of The Shadowood Collective. Sarah’s work has participated in roughly 50 group exhibits; in Toronto, Berlin, Krakow, Los Angeles.


iskwē | ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ is, among many other things, an artist – a creator and communicator of music and of movement, of pictures, poetry and prose. And through it all, she’s a teller of stories that have impacted our past and will inform our future. acākosīk | ᐊᒐᑯᓯᐠ is the culmination of her creation and collaboration to this point. It’s a collection of seven sonic explorations that not only blur lines between sources and styles, but also between the actual and the ideal, the real and imagined.

Building on the foundation of potent, cross-cultural electro-pop established on her self-titled 2013 debut and the Juno-nominated, Polaris Music Prize Long-Listed 2017 follow-up The Fight Within, acākosīk incorporates more intense and urgent tinges of alternative, post-rock, and even industrial. The cohesive-yet-combustible result tips a cap to modern innovators like Florence + The Machine and FKA twigs while simultaneously borrowing sounds accumulated over centuries by iskwē’s cree and Métis ancestors.

Canadian Contributors

  • Art Department: Art Pratten, Cora Paiero, Melissa Panth, Meron Kebede, Nidia Martinez, Shaylyn Lucas, Tylor White
  • Special Effects: Adam Caplan, Sammy Roach (web.isod.es)