CBC and CARAS celebrate a return to live music with The 51st Annual JUNO Awards and Music Day on CBC - The JUNO Awards
Watch The 2023 JUNO Awards Sunday, March 13
NEWS + PRESS MEDIA RELEASE

CBC and CARAS celebrate a return to live music with The 51st Annual JUNO Awards and Music Day on CBC

Tune in to The 2022 JUNO Awards broadcast nationwide Sunday, May 15 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, CBC Listen, globally on CBCMusic.ca/junos and live streamed on CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages  

 

JUNO Week is now underway with events across Toronto in the lead up to Sunday’s Music Day on CBC, a full-day lineup of special music programming kicking off at 6 a.m. ahead of The 51st Annual JUNO Awards broadcast

 

 Tickets to The 51st Annual JUNO Awards are available at ticketmaster.ca/junos

 

May 9, 2022 – This week, CBC and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) are bringing Canada’s biggest celebration of music back to audiences in Toronto, across Canada and around the world, on all platforms with a special lineup for this year’s JUNO Week and Music Day on CBC leading up to The 51st Annual JUNO Awards broadcast.

This year’s show, hosted by Simu Liu, star of Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings and CBC’s Kim’s Convenience, will broadcast live from Budweiser Stage on Sunday, May 15 at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT nationwide on CBC TV, CBC Radio One and CBC Music, streamed live on CBC Gem, CBC Listen, and around the world at CBCMusic.ca/junos, and CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages. Returning for the first time in person with a live audience since 2019, The 51st JUNO Awards broadcast features appearances by  Andrew Phung, Arcade Fire, Arkells, Avril Lavigne, bbno$, Bilal Baig, Charlotte Cardin, Chris Bosh, Deborah Cox, DJ Shub and Snotty Nose Rez Kids, Donovan Woods, Faouzia, Haviah Mighty, Mustafa, Lauren Spencer-Smith, The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, RoseAnne Archibald, Roxane Bruneau, Tesher, TOBi, and Tia Wood. 2022 JUNO Awards Broadcast and live stream media sponsors include TD Bank Group, Sirius XM, TikTok and HAROLD by Harry Rosen. In advance of Sunday’s broadcast, over 40 JUNO Awards will be given out at the JUNO Opening Night Awards Presented by Ontario Creates on Saturday, May 14.  Hosted by Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe (CBC Music’s The Block) and Ann Pornel (The Great Canadian Baking Show), the event will stream live at cbcmusic.ca/junos, on CBC Gem and CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages at 6pm ET / 3pm PT and feature performances by Allison Russell, Jesse Gold, Roxane Bruneau, Ruby Waters, and Valley.  

As the home for Canadian music, CBC and CARAS are dedicated to showcasing homegrown artists with the return of JUNO Week events and MUSIC DAY ON CBC to CBC TV, CBC Radio and CBC Gem, highlighting a range of musicians from new and emerging voices to some of the country’s biggest and brightest stars across all genres. New to this year’s MUSIC DAY ON CBC lineup, THE INTRO with host Jess Huddleston showcases Canada’s most exciting rising artists and JUNO nominees through interviews and live performances, while the JUNOS PRE-SHOW WITH TOM POWER is back with all-new, intimate and in-depth interviews with Charlotte Cardin, Deborah Cox, Haviah Mighty, Simu Liu and more.

See below for the full list of 2022 JUNO Week live streams, the MUSIC DAY ON CBC radio, television and streaming schedule and here for the full 2022 JUNO Week schedule of events. 

 

Wednesday, May 11

JUNO SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE PRESENTED BY SOCAN AND FACTOR IN ASSOCIATION WITH MUSIC PUBLISHERS CANADA

Watch live at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC Gem, CBCmusic.ca/junos, CBC Music Facebook, CBC Music Twitter, CBC Music YouTube, and CBC Music TikTok

Live from Massey Hall in Toronto, the perennially popular JUNO Songwriters’ Circle returns, celebrating over five decades of excellence in songwriting. Hear Canada’s top songwriters and 2022 JUNO nominees come together onstage for intimate conversations and stripped-down performances. Featuring:  Allison Russell, Charlotte Day Wilson, Devon Portielje and Conner Molander from Half Moon Run, Metric, Mustafa, Serena Ryder, TOBi, and The Weather Station. 

Thursday, May 12  

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST PRESENTS: INDIGENOUS ARTIST SHOWCASE

Watch live at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT on CBC Gem, CBCmusic.ca/junos, CBC Music Facebook, CBC Music Twitter, CBC Music YouTube and CBC Music TikTok 

Live from the Clubhouse at Dine Alone Records in Toronto, join host Falen Johnson to hear and celebrate 2022 nominees Fawn Wood and Adrian Sutherland, past nominees Burnstick, and emerging art rock band OMBIIGIZI. This showcase will highlight the past, present and future of Indigenous music in Canada, featuring JUNO nominees from both traditional and contemporary artist and group of the year categories.

Friday, May 13

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST PRESENTS: THE BLOCK SHOWCASE

Watch live at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on  CBC Gem, CBCmusic.ca/junos, CBC Music Facebook, CBC Music Twitter, CBC Music YouTube and CBC Music TikTok 

Hosted by Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe live from Baby G in Toronto, The Block‘s CBC Music JUNOfest showcase continues the celebration of the culture with special performances by Thelonious, Zenesoul, Exco Levi and TRP.P.

Saturday, May 14

2022 JUNO OPENING NIGHT AWARDS PRESENTED BY ONTARIO CREATES

Watch live at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC Gem, CBCmusic.ca/junos, CBC Music Facebook, CBC Music Twitter, CBC Music YouTube and CBC Music TikTok 

Hosted by Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe and Ann Pornel, this celebration features the presentation of 40-plus JUNO Awards, the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award, the Humanitarian Award Presented by Music Canada, and performances from Allison Russell, Jesse Gold, Roxane Bruneau, Ruby Waters, and Valley.

SUNDAY, MAY 15 – MUSIC DAY ON CBC

Listen:

WEEKEND MORNINGS
6 a.m. local time on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen.

Miguel Rivas will get things started on Music Day on CBC by highlighting the performers and nominees from The 2022 JUNO Awards broadcast, plus previewing the special content coming up all Sunday long on CBC Music.

IN CONCERT
9 a.m. local time on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Hosted by Paolo Pietropaolo, this In Concert JUNO special will feature 2022 winners and nominees from all the classical categories.

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST PRESENTS: JAZZ SHOWCASE
11 a.m. local time on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Hosted by Ismaila Alfa live from Supermarket in Toronto, this JUNOfest jazz showcase features 11 musicians nominated in the three jazz categories at The 2022 JUNO Awards. From traditional to vocal, from group to global, this showcase covers the jazz spectrum. Performers include: Amanda Tosoff, Avataar, Caity Gyorgy, ES:MO (Elizabeth Shepherd & Michael Occhipinti) and Jesse Ryan.

JUNO SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE PRESENTED BY SOCAN AND FACTOR IN ASSOCIATION WITH MUSIC PUBLISHERS CANADA
Noon local time on CBC Music and CBC Listen, 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET (3:30 NT) on CBC Radio One

Live from Massey Hall in Toronto, the perennially popular JUNO Songwriters’ Circle returns, celebrating over five decades of excellence in songwriting. Hear Canada’s top songwriters and 2022 JUNO nominees come together onstage for intimate conversations and stripped-down performances. Featuring: Charlotte Day Wilson, TOBi, Serena Ryder, The Weather Station and more.

DEEP DIVE ON DEBORAH COX
2 p.m. local time on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Host Rich Terfry deep-dives into Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Deborah Cox’s self-titled album.

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST: FREQUENCIES SHOWCASE
3 p.m. ET/AT/CT/MT, 8 p.m. PT on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Live from Lula Lounge in Toronto, Errol Nazareth hosts the CBC Music JUNOfest Frequencies showcase, celebrating music from around the world and here in Canada. Enjoy performances from four JUNO nominees for global music album of the year: Afrikana Soul Sister, Beny Esguerra and New Tradition Music, Donné Roberts and Moonshine.

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST: INDIGENOUS ARTIST SHOWCASE 
4 p.m. ET/AT/CT, 9 p.m. MT/PT on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Join host Falen Johnson for performances from Indigenous JUNO nominees, as well as some of the best up-and-coming Indigenous musicians, live from Dine Alone Records in Toronto.

CBC MUSIC JUNOFEST: THE BLOCK SHOWCASE 
5 p.m. ET/AT, 10 p.m. CT/MT/PT  on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Hosted by Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe live from Baby G in Toronto, The Block‘s CBC Music JUNOfest showcase continues the celebration of the culture with special performances by Thelonious, Zenesoul, Exco Levi and TRP.P.

CBC MUSIC PRESENTS: THE INTRO
10 p.m. ET,  9 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. MT, 7 p.m. PT, 11 p.m. AT  on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Hosted by Jess Huddleston, this special JUNOS edition of The Intro showcases Canada’s most exciting rising artists and JUNO nominees through interviews and live performances.

THE JUNO WINNERS’ CIRCLE
6 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. AT, 5 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. PT on CBC Music and CBC.ca/listen

Hosted by Pete Morey, this celebration of winners from the JUNO Opening Night Awards includes commentary and context from CBC Music experts.

THE 51ST ANNUAL JUNO AWARDS
8 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. AT, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, 5 p.m. PT on CBC Music, CBC Radio One and CBC.ca/listen

Saroja Coelho and Rich Terfry are the commentators on the biggest night in Canadian music, featuring appearances, award presentations and performances from groundbreaking Canadian artists like Mustafa, Charlotte Cardin, bbno$, Arcade Fire and more.

Watch:

CBC MUSIC PRESENTS: THE INTRO
6 p.m. ET on CBC TV and CBC Gem

Hosted by Jess Huddleston, this special JUNOS edition of The Intro showcases Canada’s most exciting rising artists and JUNO nominees through interviews and live performances.

JUNOS PRE-SHOW WITH TOM POWER
7 p.m. ET on CBC TV and CBC Gem

Tom Power, host of CBC Radio’s flagship show, Q, sits down for intimate, in-depth conversations with some of the marquee names from this year’s JUNO Awards, including Charlotte Cardin, Deborah Cox, Haviah Mighty, and Simu Liu.

THE 51ST ANNUAL JUNO AWARDS
8 p.m. ET on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBCmusic.ca/junos, CBC Music Facebook, CBC Music Twitter and CBC Music YouTube

The 51st Annual JUNO Awards will make history on Sunday, May 15, as it broadcasts and streams for the first time from an outdoor venue at Budweiser Stage in Toronto, live across Canada at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, CBC Listen, and globally at CBCMusic.ca/junos. Hosted by Simu Liu, Canada’s biggest night in music features the presentation of various JUNO Awards, including the newest induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, sensational performances, and special appearances by Canada’s hottest artists.

Earlier JUNOfest showcases CBC MUSIC PRESENTS: JUNOFEST FREQUENCIES SHOWCASE and CBC MUSIC PRESENTS: JUNOFEST JAZZ SHOWCASE are now available to stream on CBC Gem.

In celebration of 2022 JUNO Week, the City of Toronto and MusiCounts joined forces to create MusiCounts Learn TRACK: Industry Insights, a series of free videos that provide emerging artists and music professionals with key information about how to get started in the industry. 

For promotional graphics, publicity photos, suggested social copy, logos and more, reference our Digital Toolkit.

 

Links:

Official JUNO Awards website: www.staging.junoawards.ca 

CBC Music: www.cbcmusic.ca/junos
Digital Toolkit.

JUNO Awards

Twitter: @TheJUNOAwards / Instagram: @TheJUNOAwards / Facebook: @TheJUNOAwards / Hashtag: #JUNOS

About CARAS

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music industry and promote higher artistic and industry standards. CARAS’ mandate is comprised of four key pillars: Educate through our music education charity, MusiCounts, programs and initiatives, Develop emerging artists through mentorship and development programs, Celebrate Canadian artists with year-round JUNO Awards showcasing, and Honour music industry icons through the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. In 2021 The JUNO Awards celebrated its 50th Anniversary, with a national celebration of Canadian music. For more information on the JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) please visit www.staging.junoawards.ca.

About CBC/Radio-Canada

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster. Through our mandate to inform, enlighten and entertain, we play a central role in strengthening Canadian culture. As Canada’s trusted news source, we offer a uniquely Canadian perspective on news, current affairs and world affairs. Our distinctively homegrown entertainment programming draws audiences from across the country. Deeply rooted in communities, CBC/Radio-Canada offers diverse content in English, French and eight Indigenous languages. We also deliver content in Spanish, Arabic and Chinese, as well as both official languages, through Radio Canada International (RCI). We are leading the transformation to meet the needs of Canadians in a digital world.

About CBC Music

CBC Music is the leading curator of emerging and diverse Canadian music talent across platforms, playing the most Canadian artists and genres on radio, CBC Listen and cbcmusic.ca. We prioritize Canadian artists in a wide variety of genres on over 200 playlists available on CBC Listen, and publish daily national music coverage. CBC Music Live features live music recordings from across the country. Our music partnerships and events include The JUNOS, the Polaris Music Prize, CBC Music Toyota Searchlight, the CBC Music Festival, The Canadian Music Class Challenge and Canada Listens.

For more information about the JUNOS broadcast on CBC, please contact:

Teaghan Hawke, CBC PR
teaghan.hawke@cbc.ca

For more information about the JUNOS, please contact:

Cherise Williams, rock-it promotions, cherise@rockitpromo.com